Well-Rounded Summer Reading for 2015

Kicking off my
Kicking off my “summer” reading last month in San Diego
bibliophile: n. a person who collects or has a great love of books.

This describes me well. These days I seem to read at least two books at once, and if I am loving them, you are sure to hear about it. My master “to read” list is sitting at a hefty 205 titles. I check my Amazon wishlist regularly to see if any titles I have been eyeing have gone on sale so I can snatch them up immediately. I will sacrifice sleep to finish a good book.  If I’m not reading, something is seriously wrong.

I made a goal to read 25 books in 2015, across the categories of Non-Fiction/Memoir, Fiction, Business/Personal Growth, Spiritual Growth, and Relationships. I picked five in five different categories because I tend to “read to steal” – I like to read how I like to write. It makes me a better writer, and books by authors who blog also tend to be faster reads. However, I want to balance that impulse with other genres in order to be a more well-rounded reader and writer.

Because I love goals and the start of summer is as good a time as any for some new ones, I thought I would share what is on my current summer reading list.

I tend to average about two to three books a month, unless I am on vacation. So eight(ish) books over the course of three months seems reasonable.

Currently Reading

1. The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd (Fiction) 5 chapters to go. I love this author but not this book.
2. The Nesting Place by Myquillyn Smith (Non-Fiction) A book for renters who want to make their impermanent spaces feel more like home. Heck yes.

Spiritual Growth

1. The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning (because embracing grace is a marvelous thing)
2. A New Kind of Christian by Brian D. McLaren (because I want to hear more about reading the Bible as narrative)

Relationships

1. The Zim-Zum of Love by Rob and Kristen Bell (because I’ve appreciated everything Rob has ever written and I am always excited about new ways to look at love)
2. Love and Respect by Emerson Eggerichs (because maybe I’ll pick up some tips to love Nick better)

Non-Fiction

1. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand (because everyone will not shut up about how good it is)
2. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo (because I desperately need tidying systems)

Fiction

1. Paper Towns by John Green (because the movie adaptation comes out July 24th and I refuse to see it first)
2. ??? (I need your help! What other fiction should I be reading? Hint: I love to read to escape!)

What is on your summer reading list? What is the best book you have read in the last year and why?

3 thoughts on “Well-Rounded Summer Reading for 2015

  1. I love that you’re challenging yourself to read a diverse range of books. APW just posted a list of summer reads and made me want to add all of them to my reading list. Travelling is my best time to read because I have no choice but to unplug from technology which is my biggest timesuck.
    I’m currently reading We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler. It was a gift from my sister and I’m really enjoying it. Fowler wrote The Jane Austen Book Club but this seems totally different.

  2. What is your 205 “master list” and where do you keep it. Mine just got erased due to a poorly coordinated Outlook sink 😦 😦 :-(.

Leave a Reply

