This is My Story

Erika_Lenzi_My_Story

This is the first time I have attempted to tell the whole of my story in one sitting.

While I tell you bits and pieces on a regular basis, I have never attempted to structure it and make it fit into something less than a ten minute telling. I love narrative. I love details, understanding a character’s motivation, and a good story arc. I love the conflict and the triumph. I am also personally far more comfortable with thoughtfully chosen written words than grasping the right ones as they are rolling off my tongue.

Last fall I attended both the Storyline Conference and a church retreat for Dinner Group leaders where we walked through the basics of telling our story. Since then I have sensed an internal nudge that it was time to tell this particular thread of my story to my church community through the medium of video. I recently filmed it for the current series we are in at Hoboken Grace, Chemistry: The Elements of a Lasting Relationship.

It is always intimidating to share the innermost parts of yourself, but I hope that in hearing it, you are encouraged in some way. My story is proof that God can take the most painful heart breaks and use them for His beautiful purposes.

I would love to hear your story!

9 thoughts on “This is My Story

    1. Thanks for your encouragement, friend! You know you may be getting comfortable with vulnerability when you look at it and go, “Yeah, this is pretty true, but there’s even more layers to unearth here.” This is the cleaner, quicker more edited version of the much messier, nuanced truth. But hey, I guess you do what you can with 8 minutes that were SUPPOSED to be 4. Ha ha πŸ˜‰

  1. Wow. I’m continually amazed and impressed by you! What an awesome gift you just gave to so many who have been and are in your position. Thanks for sharing your story. So glad that I know you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

