Five Things Friday: 9.12.14

Ok, five-ish. I have a lot to share with you!

Listen
image source: theartofsimple.net
image source: theartofsimple.net

I can’t stop listening to The Art of Simple Podcast thanks to my friends with great taste over at Help You Dwell.

And speaking of dwelling, the things I am bursting at the seams to share with you this week are absolutely all about helping you life a better, fuller, simpler life.

Wear

style me september

Last month I discovered Hilary Rushford’s Style Me prompts, and I am having an absolute blast shopping my own closet each day to meet the daily challenge. Hello, THIS is how you get a writer to look nice!

Since listening to Joshua Becker of Becoming Minimalist on The Art of Simple, I’ve fallen down a minimalist rabbit hole, which has led me to sell things I don’t need on Craigslist and… minimalist fashion.

Capsule wardrobes.
Remixing your closet.
Wardrobe architect.
Wardrobe revamp.

You’re welcome.

I have been researching on Pinterest for DAYS, ya’ll. I’m a little obsessed. But in the best way possible, because it is pushing me to re-think what I already have instead of sulking over the clothing pieces I’m missing. You already know how much I struggle with longing for things I can’t have. It’s a reminder that I buy so much crap and it’s actually making my life harder. This is such a healthy practice – it’s gratitude, for your closet.

Taste
MIMSC_THM_Sausage_Pie
Sausage version of Cheeseburger Pie

I’ve been trying to follow the principles of Trim Healthy Mama for a while now after witnessing a friend’s success, and have found that a few of the recipes have become go-tos:

Peanut Butter Cookie Overnight Oatmeal
Cheeseburger Pie (At Nick’s suggestion, I made a delicious sausage breakfast version!)
Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies (Sugar-free and Gluten-free!)
Good Girl Moonshine (I prefer to use seltzer so it’s like a stronger ginger-ale)

I’m aiming to eat food as fuel at home and treat myself when we go out. So, no miraculous results yet but I like knowing I’m eating well at home. All things in moderation, right?

Watch

This is the most uplifting 9/11 tribute I may have ever seen. I never even considered this side of the story before. Entirely worth your 12 minutes.

Read

MIMSC_Bookstack

Sarah Bessey’s post Be Not Afraid. So timely with the anniversary of 9/11 this week. We don’t need to live in fear.

I just finished Shauna Niequest’s memoir Bittersweet, and it made me both laugh and bawl my freaking eyes out, so you know, it goes in the keeper column. If Glennon’s saying about life being brutiful (brutal + beautiful) resonates, and you also don’t mind lengthy descriptions of food, you’ll devour this one 😉

So what are you loving lately?

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday: 9.12.14

  1. You’re on a roll…Love it! I just went down a Pinterest rabbit hole with your recipes. And you’ve been talking about “Bittersweet” so much I added it to my Goodreads list!

Leave a Reply

