Stitch Fix Friday: Fix #2

It’s Stitch Fix Friday! I first tried Stitch Fix a couple of months ago, and ended up with a fun printed top I have been wearing quite a bit this summer. This time around I tried to give more details about my style preferences and specifically, a few key items I’ve been missing in my wardrobe:

“I almost always prefer bold, jewel-toned colors near my face or soft neutrals. I have reddish-brown hair, green eyes, and fair skin. Working from home these days, so comfy and versatile chic is best. Items I could use: jean jacket, chambray shirt, printed shorts, a neutral cross-body bag, bracelet sets.”

Here’s what my stylist Noemi picked for me!

erikalenzi_stitchfix2.1Pomelo Moni Stud Detailed 3/4 Blouse, $58

Pros: The jewel-toned color is something I would wear in a heartbeat. I like the split v-neck and the texture detail on the front.
Cons: I am indifferent towards the nail-head trim look on the torso, but I HATE it on the sleeves. Not a fan of the poofy sleeve thing either – feels too girly for me.
Conclusion: Pass. I would never try this on in a store let alone pay $58 for it.

erikalenzi_stitchfix2.3Just Black Nolan Ankle Skinny Jean, $58.00

Pros: I’ve been considering white jeans for a while. They are the right size (though a bit snug), and are stretchy. The price point is great for a pair of pants. Bonus points for being made in the USA!
Cons: I’m still not sure if I can rock white jeans on a regular basis. They definitely in the “jegging” category of jeans, so what do I wear underneath to make them smooth?
Conclusion: Undecided, leaning towards “probably not.” Help!

erikalenzi_stitchfix2.2

Just Black Trudie Medium Wash Distressed Jacket, $58

Pros: My stylist listened, and it’s a nice color.
Cons: Too late – I just found a great jean jacket in a great color (lighter) and fit at the GAP outlet while on vacation for $25.
Conclusion: Pass.

erikalenzi_stitchfix2.5
Olive & Oak Robyn Striped Pocket-Front Cardigan, $38

Pros: I LOVE a good cardigan! It is navy and white, totally classic and versatile and up my alley. I don’t own a striped cardigan, the fit is great, and the material is lightweight and comfortable. The price point is right when considering my styling fee.
Cons: I already own a significant cardigan collection and I worry how much wear I’ll get out of it.
Conclusion: Undecided, leaning towards yes. Help!

erikalenzi_stitchfix2.4Pixley Jakobe Chevron Print Maxi Dress, $78

Pros: I love the colors and print. The material is comfortable.
Cons: The fit isn’t the most flattering. I struggle to create a waist to begin with, so the draping makes me feel boxy. I would probably never pay $78 for a maxi dress because I know I can snag something similar at Marshall’s or TJ Maxx for $40 or less.
Conclusion: Sadly, pass.

Considering I only had two of my last style requests addressed, I’m not thrilled with my over all picks and at this point I’m doubting if I’ll try it again. With the $20 styling fee, I feel obligated to keep one piece and the Olive & Oak seems like it will be what I would wear the most into the fall. What do you think I should keep and why? Or should I send it all back and call it a loss?

What have been your summer style essentials? What are you on the hunt for as we head into the fall? If you want to give Stitch Fix a whirl, click here to use my referral code.

8 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Friday: Fix #2

  1. It’s too bad the blue shirt has the detail on the sleeves…the color looks great on you! Since you already paid the $20, I’d go with the cardigan. I’ve heard that Stitch Fix gets better as you go along….it seems like you’ll always find something you like. The question is if they’ll stick to your price points. I’m surprised they didn’t throw in any accessories though.

    1. The cardigan is still my front-runner due to the price. I need to decide and send back today! I can see how Stitch Fix would improve the more feedback you give them. I also let them know I preferred the whole box discount total to be $200, which they hit pretty spot on. The $20 each time is ultimately a gamble though!

  2. That blue shirt looks great on you! I’m sad your passing it up 🙂 I like the white pants but they do look a little snug.

    1. I just wish the sleeves were different, and I would keep it! I’ll have to keep an eye out for something similar. The white pants are SUPER snug (as I think they are supposed to be) but then I feel like I have to wear them as leggings only and then I’d always have to wear shirts that cover my rump – which I don’t have a ton of!

  3. Personally, I would keep the white jeans and denim jacket. Both are hard to find in a good fit and color.

    I like the poofy sleeve, but I would return the rest.

    Fun post!

  4. Keep the cardigan, return the rest. Cardigans are so functional! And the stripes can step up an outfit just a touch. If nothing else, the $20 style fee can be put towards the cost of some “ideas” for you to pull your own pieces at a better bargain.

    1. Thanks Erin! That’s what I ultimately decided. The price point pushed me over the edge, and I know I will get a ton of wear out of it this fall!

Leave a Reply

