Five Things Friday: 7.18.14

Five things I’ve been loving lately…

Governor’s Island

Hammock Grove bliss.
Hammock Grove bliss.

I was first inspired to travel to Governor’s Island because of an art exhibit three years ago, and I have loved visiting ever since. I took a trip with some girl friends from college a couple of weekends ago and since experiencing the 30 additional renovated acres, I’m not even more in love. What’s the draw? Wide open space, historical buildings, local art and pop-up shops, food trucks, and my favorite – a hammock grove! It’s well worth the trip, and the ferry is free on weekends beginning at 10 AM.

BANDED

Image Source: @banded2gether instagram (click for link)
Image Source: @banded2gether instagram (click for link)

My friend Danielle tipped me off about BANDED, a no-slip headband company that gives back to a non-profit supporting children in Uganda. I am usually not a headband girl due to the usually guaranteed headaches they inflict, but I’m intrigued by their comfort claims, cute designs, and I LOVE the cause! I haven’t placed an order yet (darn clothing budget) but I can’t wait to get my hands on some of these.

The Enneagram

Some "light" vacation reading.
Some “light” vacation reading.

I heard about the personality test a few years ago while I was living in Knoxville, but The Relevant Podcast crew recently got into it pretty heavily and sparked my interest. I ordered a copy of The Wisdom of the Enneagram and am having a hard time putting it down. I love exploring the inner workings of humans, so diving into a book about our childhood wounds and how they shape our adult identities is right up my alley.

The Lady & Sons

Exploring Savannah's Market Square
Exploring Savannah’s Market Square

Nick and I were on family vacation last week in Hilton Head, South Carolina and knew we had to visit Savannah, Georgia again since we were only an hour away! Nick’s mom suggested Paula Deen’s restaurant, The Lady and Sons. As a New Yorker, I’m always slightly skeptical about Food Network chefs and the hype that surrounds them. But I have to say that with this one, the hype and $18 buffet price tag was worth it. I’m the granddaughter of some seriously good southern cooks and Paula’s recipes were impressive!

JOHNNYSWIM


Their debut album Diamonds kept us company on the long 14 hour (thanks I-95 traffic) drive from New Jersey to Hilton Head. If you’re a fan of The Lone Bellow or The Civil Wars, you’ll enjoy this Nashville-based duo!

What have you been enjoying this week?

6 thoughts on “Five Things Friday: 7.18.14

    1. My pleasure! I had a look at their tour schedule and they’re playing the Philadelphia Folk Festival in a few weeks. I really want to go because tickets look extremely reasonable, but if I can’t I’ll settle for when they hit NYC a few days later 🙂

  1. Oooohh, can’t wait to hear more about your trip! AND, I can’t remember if we’ve already talked about this, but I’m thinking that a bookswap might be in order when you finish that badboy… I’ve got a couple I think you’d love, and I have a feeling our brains might explode with goodness from all of the new material! 🙂

  2. I’m wearing my Skinny Teal Weave (http://bit.ly/1nNlXum) Banded headband today! It’s awesome because it doesn’t slip, which is important with short hair. And it automatically adjusts to my head so it doesn’t pinch. I also have the Wide Aqua Scroll that doesn’t look right with my new short haircut (bit.ly/1rDAf5H) so it’s all yours! I also have the Black Sparkle (http://bit.ly/1n4iWuj) and can’t wait to try it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

