Urban Church Changes Everything

Hoboken City Hall

Today I have a guest post featured over at my friend Paul’s blog, Hunting for God, the gist of which is how I am getting over myself and learning to embrace Hoboken 😉 Please go check it out and leave some love!

I have come to realize that living an urban life has forever shifted my understand what it means to follow Jesus.

My faith started to shift when left college in the Bible belt of East Tennessee and moved into the thick of one of Philadelphia’s roughest neighborhoods. My campus was situated in North Philadelphia, an area notorious for its high levels of crime. I quickly learned that those rapid-fire pops that sounded like fireworks weren’t child’s play – they were gunshots echoing through the streets… [click here to read the rest]

3 thoughts on “Urban Church Changes Everything

  1. Love the blog Erika! Makes me want to come do life in Hoboken & serve with you, hurricane Sandy & all! Excited to spend 3 days in your great city!

Leave a Reply

