Apparel, Apartments, and Excess: Anthropologie on its Way

My lovely apron from Anthropologie.

HUGE news for the females of Hoboken: word on the street is that Anthropologie is planting itself smack-dab in the middle of the shopping hub of Hoboken. Like most twenty-something caucasian females, I adore Anthropologie. Out of all my friends getting married this year, items from this retailer has been at the top of so many of their bridal wish lists. I don’t really even know how this Philly-based company existence snuck its way into my consciousness a few years ago (most likely my blog surfing habit), but ever since I have found myself drooling over their vintage-inspired romantic clothing, accessories, and housewares… and then choking on the price tags. In the entirety of my wardrobe, the Anthropologie section extends only to a belt (bought on clearance!) and an apron, which was a gift from my husband.

But the arrival of this retail store is fantastic news for Hoboken, where the median household income is $82K a year, according to cnn.com. We currently have many Hoboken clothing boutiques around the same price-point as Anthropologie, but since most retail spaces are small, they don’t carry a diverse clothing stock. We really only have one other popular clothing retailer, American Apparel, which carries great basics but doesn’t hold the same kind of overall appeal.

The impending arrival of “Anthro” (as it is nicknamed) here both excites and devastates me. Since I am a part-time retail employee, Nick and I do not fall into the median Hoboken household range. In our first year of marriage, we are also being responsible and paying down our debt. So the chances of me being able to shop anything but the clearance rack (and even then, that might be a stretch) at Anthropologie until those factors change is extremely slim.

Then there’s also my conscience. My sister and I recently had a discussion where I was expressing my frustration over still being without a full-time job, a year after moving to Hoboken. I told her I hate not being able to have the luxury of updating my closet with some new items every few months. Even when I first started babysitting in middle school, all the money I made went directly to my wardrobe. She reminded me that although I live in a city culture that is absolutely all about keeping up with the Joneses (and therefore most likely living beyond its means), I should always be aiming to live more simply. There is beauty and dignity in being able to get by on what you need, and not having everything you want. I am continually learning this lesson, but I often feel terrible about it. I say to myself: “But I need more stuff to put my stuff in/on!” When reality is… I probably have too much stuff. I want to live simply and practically, but I also want my little apartment to reflect me and Nick and to feel like home.

Hobokenite ladies, what are your thoughts on Anthropologie coming to town? Are you excited? Concerned? Do you have any tips or experiences on how to live simply but fully in this materially obsessed city? No matter where you live, how do you update your closet and make your dwellings feel like home while on a strict budget?

6 thoughts on “Apparel, Apartments, and Excess: Anthropologie on its Way

  1. As the initial bringer of this news, I am super excited. There was some concern on some of the websites with regard to local businesses, but the ones I tend to frequent in Hoboken are a lower price point than Anthro, Town House and Anthology. I find that yes Anthro is too expensive….but I still shop there but smartly.

    When I worked in Short Hills, I would go to the Anthro at the mall every once and awhile and I learned that the key is their sales rack which is normally 50% the normal prices. Often I would employ the following technique, find something I like in the store, don’t buy it, go to the online shop and put it in your online cart, look into the cart periodically, once goes on sale online, go quickly to Anthro and hope they still have it in your size, purchase. Sure sometimes you don’t get what you want, but that is life. It will be a lot easier to just pop into the store when it is in Hoboken versus going into the city on the off chance they have the item you want in your size.

    Plus this gives you the added benefit of really forcing yourself to think about the purchase because it might be a month or two from the time the item is in the stores to on the sale rack. Do I really need or want this item? Sometimes you find the answer is no.

    There is nothing like the feeling of finding a shirt that you want, getting in line to pay full price, saying to yourself “no wait this is too much”, then coming back a month later finding it for half the price and saying “woo hoo”.

    1. Thanks for your feedback 🙂 There is definitely a benefit to working right across the street… I can go check prices as often as I want. But I am a completely average size, which may prove difficult in actually finding items I want on sale. My major issue is that I just have to find a way to actually have a small clothing budget again (it currently doesn’t exist) in order to “shop smart.” The main excess can be found in our habits of eating out. Darn Hoboken and its delicious food options!

    1. Haha… I promise it was a sweet gesture. I had tweeted a link to it saying I loved it while we were engaged, and next thing I knew it showed up on his doorstep. Honestly, I think he enjoys creating meals more than I do. The apron encourages me to keep working on my mostly non-domestic ways 😉

  2. Are we the same person?

    Just kidding though, because I’m an ISTJ and that is basically not an ENFP. So clearly there are some other factors at work here.

    This reminds me: do you know the Enneagram?

Leave a Reply

