Creative Wedding Invitations on a Budget

In honor of my dear friend and bride-to-be (whom I call “Bechles,” which is the combination of her last name, Bech, with the adorable freckles on her face) prepping her amazing DIY wedding invitations this evening for her July 9th wedding, I thought I would give you the scoop on wedding invites.

Honestly, when I first started planning, I initially didn’t care all that much about invitations. Now, trust me, I do care about design and drool over elegant letterpress stationary, but I knew that was not something on which I was willing to blow a huge portion of my wedding budget. At the start, I figured my Photoshop-wiz little brother and I would throw together something custom and awesome and have it printed locally somewhere for cheap. But unfortunately I completely forget how long these kind of DIY projects take, and by the time I began to think about invite designs, I should have already ordered them, since almost all of our guests were traveling in from out of town.

Luckily, I had heard some buzz about Wedding Paper Divas, and had been impressed by their designs. I liked that things were customizable and that I was able to have access to a real designer who would work with me to make sure they came out just right. After much deliberation, I settled on the “Radiant Ranunculus” design, and had them express shipped to the house. I was pleased overall with the results. They weren’t the most amazing, luxe quality invites ever, but they fit the bill well enough. I did end up spending more than I had hoped, mostly because I think I drastically underestimated the cost of ink and cardstock not printed from my own computer. But to help budget-conscious customers, another plus about WPD is that they often have sales running, and you can sign up for a “Deal of the Day” item every Thursday.

In fact, I like this company so much, that lately I have been ordering all my birthday and special occasion cards through their sister company, Tiny Prints. I also ordered my wedding thank you notes through them for a total of .83 cents each just last night! Here’s a tip when considering thank you notes: WPD may have more “wedding-ish” options for thank you notes, but the prices were definitely higher. Going with a simpler design that was a 2-sided flat card through Tiny Prints ended up costing much less. When I start sending them out to people, I’ll post a picture of them. I’m happy with how they turned out (digitally at least)! And yes, I know it’s May, and we’ve been married almost 4 months I’m just now sending out thank yous. Wedding etiquette says I have a year! Give me a break!

Do you have any brilliant and budget-friendly wedding invite or stationary ideas?

4 thoughts on “Creative Wedding Invitations on a Budget

  1. I’m sorry to start with negitivity but I would like to correct you that its “Bechels” which I created. It’s becuase her name is raCHel beCH therefore its BECHELs a combo of her name. Come on now 😉

  2. Just made my own DIY Graduation Announcements, (there’s a tutorial on my blog)they ended up costing me like 60 cents each or something rediculous like that. Love em! Always best to make your own when you can 🙂 But you can’t really beat 83 cent thank-yous that are ready to go!

  3. Hahahahah oh Nick! Bechels does have freckles and lots of them!!!
    Love the post and after they are all out you can post a pic of them!!

  4. Mine are at the print shop now- fingers crossed! My secret ingredient? I knew I wanted custom design, so I contacted the career services office at my alma mater and asked them if there were any senior level graphic design students that they could put me in touch with. I worked with the sweetest girl and paid under $100 for the graphic files of my entire suite, which I sent on to a local print shop to make a reality! I don’t know if that’s a good deal or not, but I’m so happy with them I don’t mind either way. (We won’t add up the cost of printing just yet- eek!)

Leave a Reply

