A New Chapter

I thought it was high time for a new blog due to many reasons:

  1. I’ve been wanting a WordPress blog for so long
  2. It’s 2011, and although January is over and New Year’s resolutions have been made, the year has just begun and it makes me want to start something new
  3. I just got married and am entering an entirely new stage of life

So I should have plenty to write about. Let’s start with “the big day,” January 21, 2011:

I love this picture. I think it is such a great capture – us on the dance floor, having a blast, just so deeply enjoying the moment. I have issues with the word “perfect,” but our wedding was nearly that. Everything came together better than I dreamed it could. The details meshed beautifully. It snowed just enough to add romance to the day, but not impede anyone’s travel. I actually made it ON TIME to my “first look” before the wedding in a back alley with Nick and our fabulous photographers, which was probably the best gift I could have given him.

The night before the wedding, I wrote: “life right now is the height of surreal. I am going to force this out-of-body experience to become one of flesh and bone and salty tears. I am determined to live in the present and relish every moment possible. I am in awe of how blessed I am to be so loved.” My number one prayer for the day was that I would just be present. I wanted to drink in every moment and file it away in my memory in technicolor. I had been told or had read that the day just flies by, and before you knew it, the night would be over and you could wonder, “What just happened?”

I am so overjoyed to say that was not my experience. I remember the faces of my loved ones who attended, and many conversations that were had, and what I felt like as the night progressed. A few people have asked me what my favorite part was, and honestly, I don’t think I can come up with one. Can my favorite part be that so many people who have been so instrumental in our lives loved us enough to show up and be witnesses to our commitment that day? At some point I realized that this kind of gathering of loved ones on such a grand scale will probably never happen again. How incredibly humbling. We are so loved.

2 thoughts on “A New Chapter

Leave a Reply

